Free DUI Insurance Quote
We get it…you made a mistake, let us help in getting your life back on track. Dorsal Insurance agents are knowledgeable on DUI Insurance. We will work with the leading insurance companies to get affordable coverage.
The State of Florida requires anyone convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol to carry an FR-44 filing. The costs of getting back your license can and will cost you thousands, don’t let the insurance cost be another burden. Call Dorsal Insurance today to speak to one of our high-risk insurance specialists today. 788.601.2485
DUI Insurance Requirements (FR-44)
The State of Florida mandates a minimum amount of insurance of $100,000/$300,000 in Bodily Injury, $50,000 Property Damage and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) $10,000.
Bodily Injury Liability Limits – $100,000 per person, per accident with a total coverage for a single occurrence of $300,000. This coverage is liability to others if you are found at fault for an accident.
Property Damage Liability – $50,000 damage to others property in the event of an accident.
Personal Injury Protection – Also known as PIP and No-Fault Insurance is required by state law at a coverage amount of $10,000. This provides medical expenses and lost wages to the insured in the event of an injury accident, regardless of fault.
What is a FR-44?
The 2018 Florida Statue States “Financial responsibility for bodily injury or death.—In addition to any other financial responsibility required by law, every owner or operator of a motor vehicle that is required to be registered in this state, or that is located within this state, and who, regardless of adjudication of guilt, has been found guilty of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge of driving under the influence under s. 316.193 after October 1, 2007, shall, by one of the methods established in s. 324.031(1) or (2), establish and maintain the ability to respond in damages for liability on account of accidents arising out of the use of a motor vehicle in the amount of $100,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, one person in any one crash and, subject to such limits for one person, in the amount of $300,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one crash and in the amount of $50,000 because of property damage in any one crash”
What is the average cost of liability insurance?
Like all car insurance, rates vary among hundreds of different factors such as driving record, vehicle type, driving record, and zip code. Florida drivers with a DUI conviction can expect to pay 40% to 50% higher insurance costs than your current insurance rates.
How long do I have to carry a Florida FR-44?
The State of Florida requires you to carry a FR-44 Insurance for a period of three (3) years. This means you can expect to pay higher insurance rates until this period of time expires. It is important to remember that the three (3) year period starts from the day your got arrested, not from the conviction date.
I don’t own a car am I still required to carry insurance?
Insurance coverage is required in the form of a Non-Owned Policy also known aa Named-Operator Liability Policy. This type of policy provides insurance for you for any vehicle you drive that you don’t own. The Insurance requirements for a FR44 Non-Owned Policy are $100,000/$300,000 Bodily Injury and $50,000 Property Damage. The good news is this type of policy is affordable and easy to get. Call one of our licensed high-risk insurance agents today to get started 788.601.2485.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
The State of Florida requires all drivers convicted of a DUI to maintain $100K/$300K/$50K with a FR44 Filing. Failure to do so will result in suspension of your license and they will impose a reinstatement fee:
$150 for first suspension
$250 for second suspension
$500 for third suspension
We work with all the leading insurance carriers to get our clients the coverage they need at a price they can afford. Our high-risk insurance agents understand the requirements set by the State of Florida and will take care of all the required filings. Call today to speak to one of our insurance agents 786.601.2485.